Pierrette Bloch


Pierrette Bloch

L'intervalle (The Interval)

15 November 2013 to 28 February 2014

Légende
This autumn, the Musée Jenisch Vevey plays host to the first retrospective in Switzerland devoted to Pierrette Bloch (b. 1928). A major monograph on the artist is being published by jrp І ringier to complement the presentation.

A Swiss artist who lives in Paris, Pierrette Bloch has been producing works intimately bound up with drawing and abstraction since the 1950s. She has adopted numerous techniques over the years, spanning everything from collages to compositions punctuated with black Indian ink, knitted “meshes” of horsehair threads and “paper lines”, combining a form of seriality with a subjectivity of gesture.

The exhibition brings together around a hundred works on loan from institutions such as the Centre Georges Pompidou and the Musée d’art contemporain de Grenoble. It aims to raise awareness of an oeuvre that has long remained on the margins of the major artistic trends, and to relocate it in the context of the various movements that flourished in the post-war decades.

From obsessive drawing practice to horsehair sculptures, the art of Pierrette Bloch distils issues as fundamental as the relationship between drawing and space, the influence of American minimal art on the European artistic scene, and the reception of the Supports-Surfaces movement.

The exhibition is accompanied by a film shot in the artist’s studio by Lila Ribi for the Musée Jenisch Vevey.


Publication

Edité par JRP|Ringier / Musée Jenisch Vevey

Auteurs : Julie Enckell Julliard, Pamela Lee, Nicolas Muller, Philippe Piguet, Laurence Schmidlin, Catherine de Zegher

Edition : Français/Anglais, Novembre 2013, Couverture dure, 275 x 265 mm, 180 pages

Graphisme : Gavillet & Rust


Avec le généreux soutien de la Binding Stiftung et de Dominique Haim Chanin.

Pierrette Bloch


Pierrette Bloch

Das Intervall

15. November 2013 bis 28. Februar 2014

Légende
Das Musée Jenisch Vevey präsentiert diesen Herbst die erste Schweizer Werkschau der Künstlerin Pierrette Bloch (*1928) und publiziert zu diesem Anlass im Verlag JRP|Ringier eine umfangreiche Künstlermonografie.

Die in Paris lebende Schweizer Künstlerin Pierrette Bloch arbeitet seit den 1950er-Jahren an einem konstanten zeichnerischen und abstrakten Werk, das über die verschiedenen Schaffensphasen stets neue Formen annimmt. Ob Collagen, rhythmische Kompositionen aus Tuscheflecken, Netze und aufgefädelte Knoten aus Pferdehaar oder Papierstreifen – ihre Arbeiten vereinen die Tendenz zum Seriellen mit einem ganz und gar subjektiven Ausdruck.

Die Ausstellung, die rund hundert Leihgaben aus Institutionen wie dem Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris oder dem Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Grenoble vereint, will ein lange Zeit nur am Rande der grossen Kunstströmungen wahrgenommenes Werk vermitteln und dieses in den Kontext verschiedener für die Nachkriegs-Jahrzehnte prägender Strömungen setzen.

Von der obsessiv ausgeübten Zeichenkunst bis zu den Arbeiten mit Pferdehaar konzentrieren sich in Pierrette Blochs Werk so zentrale Fragen wie das Verhältnis der Zeichnung zur Räumlichkeit, der Einfluss der amerikanischen Minimal Art auf die europäischen Kunstszenen oder die Rezeption der französischen „Supports-Surfaces“-Bewegung.

Ein im Atelier der Künstlerin und im Auftrag des Musée Jenisch Vevey entstandener Film von Lila Ribi rundet die Ausstellung ab.


Publication

Edité par JRP|Ringier / Musée Jenisch Vevey

Auteurs : Julie Enckell Julliard, Pamela Lee, Nicolas Muller, Philippe Piguet, Laurence Schmidlin, Catherine de Zegher

Edition : Français/Anglais, Novembre 2013, Couverture dure, 275 x 265 mm, 180 pages

Graphisme : Gavillet & Rust


Avec le généreux soutien de la Binding Stiftung et de Dominique Haim Chanin.