I ♥ JENISCH
Félix Vallotton, Rochers à marée basse (détail), 1917, huile sur toile, 100 x 73 cm, Musée Jenisch Vevey, Fondation pour les Arts et les Lettres


I ♥ JENISCH

A journey to the heart of the collections

22 February to 17 August 2008

I love you, a little, a lot, passionately… The Jenisch museum as a place of passions: the passions of artists, who we know from Baudelaire are “passionately in love with passion”, the passions of the collectors, the passions of the curators. I LOVE JENISCH, I love its luminary (leading ?) artists – Dürer, Rembrandt, Goya, Bocion, Corot, Courbet, Degas, Hodler, Kokoschka, Picasso, Alechinsky – its exhibitions to fall in love with, the exciting events it holds throughout the entire year… What more could we wish ? A love affair ever-increasing in intensity!

While the museum is undergoing important changes in order to reopen its doors enlarged and restored, I LOVE JENISCH proposes a journey to the heart of the collections, displaying a gigantic wall-sized Carte du Tendre. Who are the museum’s artists? Which works are most loved by the public? By presenting for the first time, in the entire space, a collection of the most beautiful paintings, prints and drawings, I LOVE JENISCH paints (depicts?) a portrait of the museum itself.

The exhibition is conceived of as a festival that, from springtime to summer, takes place under the protective eye of Venus. From events such as “Pupilles et papilles”, both educational and tasty, to sentimental chants that envelop the museum in a halo of tenderness during the “Fête de la musique”, these serenades to the muse Jenisch are not to be missed!

I ♥ JENISCH
Félix Vallotton, Rochers à marée basse (détail), 1917, huile sur toile, 100 x 73 cm, Musée Jenisch Vevey, Fondation pour les Arts et les Lettres


Voyage au cŒur des collections

du 22 février au 17 août 2008

Je t’aime, un peu, beaucoup, passionnément... Le musée Jenisch comme lieu des passions : passions des artistes, que l’on sait depuis Baudelaire « passionnément amoureux de la passion », passions des collectionneurs, passions des conservateurs. I LOVE JENISCH, I love ses artistes phares – Dürer, Rembrandt, Goya, Bocion, Corot, Courbet, Degas, Hodler, Kokoschka, Picasso, Alechinsky –, ses expositions coup de foudre, ses événements enflammés tout au long de l’année... Ce qu’on lui souhaite de mieux ? Une cote d’amour toujours croissante !

Alors que le musée s’apprête à vivre d’importantes transformations pour rouvrir ses portes agrandi et rafraîchi, I LOVE JENISCH propose un voyage au coeur des collections, déployant une gigantesque carte du Tendre à l’échelle des murs. Qui sont les artistes de la maison ? Quelles oeuvres lui attirent le plus les faveurs du public ? En présentant pour la première fois dans tous ses espaces un ensemble des plus belles peintures, estampes et pages dessinées, I LOVE JENISCH précise le portrait du musée.

L’exposition se conçoit comme une fête qui, du printemps à l’été, se place sous la protection de Vénus. Des rendez-vous Pupilles et papilles, aussi instructifs que gourmands, aux mélopées sentimentales qui enroberont le musée d’un halo de douceur lors de la Fête de la musique, ne manquez pas ces sérénades offertes à la muse Jenisch !