Mission statementMission statement


Mission statement

January 2017
120 years and still going strong

This is the story of a small museum that turned into something big – without recruiting a star architect to give it a makeover, or experiencing exponential growth. Quite simply a space that, for the last three years, has been home to outstanding works of art that have enriched its collections. The Musée Jenisch Vevey has grown from the inside out, adding more than 6,000 items to its holdings since 2014. It has been galvanised in the process. Continuously changing and developing, one of Switzerland’s oldest art museums has no sense that it is ageing. This year, it proudly celebrates its 120th birthday.
It continues its progress in 2017, with the cantonal prints collection taking centre stage in a new permanent exhibition space at the heart of the museum; and, in autumn, a celebration marking the public opening of an entirely new garden designed by the landscape architect Augusto Calonder, thanks to the generosity of the museum’s Friends.

Focusing mainly on prints and drawings and centred around the museum’s own collections, the exhibition programme spans both contemporary creativity and art from centuries past. In spring, a presentation devoted to the Swiss art scene in the 1990s showcases the story of the M/2 collective and its art space in Vevey, in tandem with the fascinating drawings of Stéphan Landry. In summer, Dizzying Colour looks at lithography and the breadth of its chromatic potential, with masterpieces from a major private collection complementing treasures from the museum. Autumn turns the spotlight back on prints, with the monumental woodcuts of Franz Gertsch in an exhibition designed by Rainer Michael Mason.

So 2017 is shaping up to be another exciting year for the Jenisch. We look forward to welcoming you, and sharing with you the world’s beauty in all its forms.

Julie Enckell Julliard
Director of the Musée Jenisch Vevey

A museum for works on paper

November 2014

Prints and drawings account for more than 95% of the collections
The second-largest art museum in the canton of Vaud, the Musée Jenisch Vevey has over the years acquired major collections of works on paper – prints and drawings from every period – which today account for more than 95% of its holdings. Specifically, there are 9'500 drawings, 35,000 prints and 1,300 paintings.

In 1968, the René de Cérenville bequest brought more than 150 early drawings to the museum, including a number of rare works by celebrated Italian artists of the Renaissance. Some two decades later the Cabinet cantonal des estampes – the cantonal prints collection – moved to Vevey, along with the Fondation William Cuendet & Atelier de Saint-Prex, the prints from the collection of Professor Decker, and the collections of the Canton of Vaud (formerly held at the Musée de l'Elysée). These were soon joined by the print collections of the Town of Vevey, the Association du Musée Alexis Forel, the Fondation Pierre Aubert and the Fondation Planque, bringing the current total to more than 35,000 items. Some years earlier, the Fondation Oskar Kokoschka deposited its holdings at Vevey, including almost 1,200 prints and several hundred drawings by the Austrian artist. In 2007, a collector left to the museum an ensemble of 400 18th-century French and Italian drawings. Finally, in 2014, Rudolf Schindler donated 632 drawings by Ferdinand Hodler.


Fostering an appreciation of prints and drawings
The institution’s strategy is to complement the other museums in the canton. While the Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts in Lausanne stages major retrospectives of painting, video art and large-scale installations, the Musée Jenisch aims to enhance appreciation of works on paper through its collections. The temporary and semi-permanent exhibitions are thus devoted primarily to prints and drawings. On the first floor, the principal gallery forming the “heart” of the display exhibits the various holdings of prints, while the two small galleries in the “Montreux” wing present drawings. The exhibition policy also aims to showcase this important heritage. Divided into three seasons, it comprises a spring presentation devoted to young, mid-career artists, a summer exhibition of international scope, and a focused reading or re-reading of an important topic in art history during autumn. An exhibition devoted to prints is staged at least once a year. The other presentations feature drawings or contemporary paper objects in the broader sense. For the most part, their starting point is the collections. Publications are shared equally between printing and drawing: the museum and the cantonal prints collection have already produced catalogues raisonnés and collection catalogues, reference monographs and works on particular topics.


The cantonal prints collection at the Musée Jenisch Vevey
Created at the Musée Jenisch Vevey in 1987 and inaugurated on 11 April 1989, the Cabinet cantonal des estampes – the cantonal prints collection – comprises both public and private collections that were assembled in the region and/or have a particular link to local art history. It is the successor to an earlier collection housed at the Musée de l’Elysée between 1979 and 1983 which itself included a number of holdings now deposited at Vevey (the Fondation William Cuendet & Atelier de Saint-Prex, the print holdings of Professor Decker and the prints collection of the Canton of Vaud).
   
Housed on the ground floor of the Musée Jenisch until 2009, the cantonal prints collection now extends to three different areas of the building. At least one temporary exhibition devoted to it is held each year in the ground-floor galleries, presenting research projects that examine in depth a particular theme or the work of an artist and reflect the three different aspects of the museum’s exhibition policy. The programme is drawn up in close collaboration with the museum’s directors. Where resources permit, the temporary exhibitions are generally accompanied by a publication. They centre on one of the holdings and may be complemented by exhibits on loan from elsewhere.
   
The cantonal prints collection is also presented through the collections in the dedicated gallery on the first floor: the “heart” of the building. Held three times a year, these displays comprise a selection from the various holdings, with a differing emphasis (contemporary/earlier art, thematic/monograph/selection, etc.). They foreground a particular collection of works in response to current developments concerning one of the depositors. The programme is drawn up annually, and the foundations’ curators may be involved in choosing all or part of the content.
   
Finally, the collection has a viewing room in the form of the Salle Leenaards. Housing the specialist library, it welcomes researchers and other interested readers alike and is also a place to study works as part of research and documentation projects.
   
The collection’s mission is to bring the resources of the printed medium to the widest possible audience, from connoisseurs to beginners, fulfilling its educational purpose through the holdings it conserves. It plays a full part in the identity and project of the Musée Jenisch Vevey, which is to be a centre of competence for works on paper.

The Musée Jenisch: a venue and a conservation team to match the collections
The Jenisch is a medium-sized museum with resources devoted to the conservation and storage of works on paper. Its spaces, furnishings, equipment and conservation workshop are aligned with this mission. They meet ICOM standards for relative humidity and temperature stability as well as security. The Salle Leenaards serves as a place to study works and conduct research. A team of specialists in packaging, framing, restoration, cataloguing and researching works of this kind have been recruited and trained accordingly, and are regularly offered continuing education in order to hone their skills.


CROP: the centre for research into works on paper
In 2013, the Musée Jenisch Vevey received a substantial subsidy from the Federal Office of Culture to assist with the digitisation of its holdings of works on paper. Its positioning as a centre for research in the field has thus received federal recognition and enabled the creation of a workshop which, ultimately, will permit the various prints and drawings collections to be consulted online. The project has two aims: to publicise and share the museum’s holdings with a wide audience, and to create a virtual resource that will considerably reduce the need to handle the works themselves.


A targeted acquisition policy
To enhance the complementarity of the various collections based in the canton of Vaud, the Musée Jenisch pursues an acquisition policy that aims to fill gaps and enrich various holdings of prints and drawings, and to reflect new artistic developments in those media. The municipal budget allocation for acquisitions is not sufficient to fund the purchase of outstanding paintings of international importance or very large contemporary pieces, but it does allow the museum to acquire the best works from the fields of printmaking and design.

A programme attuned to the needs of visitors
The museum’s cultural education programme reflects its principal orientation and aims to enhance appreciation of prints and drawings. This strategy has a particular relevance in an increasingly digital world. The programme for various audiences including primary, secondary and specialist schools thus aims to showcase the possibilities of paper and the techniques of engraving and drawing.


Complementarity and specialisation
In a cultural landscape marked by overabundance and the ineluctable growth of institutions and projects, it is frequently difficult to secure the funding necessary to realise ambitions – a situation that often leads to competition or rivalry. By pursuing a different approach focused on a specialised niche, the Musée Jenisch aims instead to complement the offerings of other museums while cultivating a strong and recognisable identity. Its goal is to grow from within rather than from without, to enhance its conservation, research and exhibition expertise, and to enlarge its collections in a targeted manner: in short, to become an indispensable Swiss centre of competence for works on paper. Often confined to smaller or less important spaces, these are not perceived as works of prime importance. The Jenisch is committed to granting works on paper an exhibition space without making distinctions. Its ambition is to become Switzerland’s leading museum exclusively devoted to the study and appreciation of prints and drawings.


Julie Enckell Julliard, Director of the Musée Jenisch Vevey
in association with Laurence Schmidlin, curator of the Cabinet cantonal des estampes and Deputy Director of the Musée Jenisch Vevey

Programme et missionProgramme et mission


Programme et mission

Janvier 2017
120 ans et pas une ride

C’est l’histoire d’un petit musée devenu grand. Pas de transformation pharaonique des espaces par un architecte-star ni d'agrandissement tonitruant. Juste la convergence, depuis trois ans maintenant, d’œuvres d’art exceptionnelles, ayant rejoint de concert les collections du musée. Le Musée Jenisch Vevey a ainsi grandi de l’intérieur, en accueillant plus de 6’000 nouvelles feuilles depuis 2014. Ce phénomène a un effet galvanisant. En continuel devenir, l'institution, qui figure parmi les plus anciens musées d’art de Suisse, ne se sent ainsi pas vieillir. Et ce bien qu’elle célèbre en 2017 ses 120 ans d’existence !

En 2017, le Musée Jenisch poursuit sa route, en mettant à l’honneur le Cabinet cantonal des estampes, qui verra inauguré au coeur du musée son pavillon permanent d’expositions ; en fêtant à l’automne, l'ouverture au public du tout nouveau jardin dessiné par l’architecte paysagiste Augusto Calonder, grâce à la générosité des Amis du musée.

Centré sur l’estampe et le dessin, conçu principalement à partir des collections conservées, le programme d’expositions aborde la création contemporaine autant que l’art des siècles plus anciens. Au printemps, une exposition dédiée à la scène artistique suisse des années 1990 présente l’histoire du collectif M/2 et de son espace d’art à Vevey, ainsi que les dessins fascinants de Stéphan Landry. À l’été, Vertige de la couleur fera la part belle à la lithographie et à ses possibilités chromatiques, mêlant chefs-d’œuvre d’une grande collection privée et trésors du musée. À l’automne enfin, l’estampe sera encore à l’honneur avec les gravures sur bois monumentales de Franz Gertsch, dans une exposition orchestrée par Rainer Michael Mason.

En 2017, le Jenisch continue ainsi de vibrer et vous accueille à bras ouverts pour apprécier la beauté du monde sous toutes ses formes.

Julie Enckell Julliard
Directrice du Musée Jenisch Vevey


Un musée pour les œuvres sur papier
                    
Novembre 2014

Plus de 95% d’estampes et de dessins dans les collections
Deuxième musée d’art du Canton de Vaud, le Musée Jenisch Vevey a réuni au fil de son histoire d’importantes collections d’œuvres sur papier  – estampes et dessins, toutes périodes confondues –, qui constituent aujourd’hui plus de 95% de ses fonds. Ceux-ci se répartissent comme suit : dessins (9'500), estampes (35'000) et peintures (1’300).

En 1968, un important legs de René de Cérenville a enrichi le patrimoine de plus de 150 dessins anciens, dont plusieurs feuilles rares d’artistes italiens célèbres de la Renaissance. Une vingtaine d’années plus tard, le Cabinet cantonal des estampes s’est établi à Vevey, fort de la Fondation William Cuendet & Atelier de Saint-Prex, du Fonds des estampes du Professeur Decker et des collections de l’Etat de Vaud (la part constituée au Musée de l'Elysée). Bientôt rejoint par les collections d’estampes de la Ville de Vevey, de l'Association du Musée Alexis Forel, de la Fondation Pierre Aubert et de la Fondation Planque, il réunit aujourd’hui plus de 35'000 pièces. Quelques années auparavant, la Fondation Oskar Kokoschka déposait à Vevey ses fonds, dont près de 1'200 estampes et plusieurs centaines de dessins de l’artiste autrichien. En 2007, un collectionneur laissa à Vevey un ensemble de 400 dessins des XVIIIe siècles français et italien. En 2014 enfin, Monsieur Rudolf Schindler donnait 632 dessins de Ferdinand Hodler au musée.


Assurer le rayonnement des estampes et du dessin
L’institution entend se développer dans une logique de complémentarité vis-à-vis des autres musées du canton. Laissant au Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne les grandes rétrospectives en peinture, l’art vidéo ou les grandes installations, le Jenisch se consacre au rayonnement des œuvres sur papier à partir des fonds qu’il conserve. Les expositions, temporaires et semi-permanentes, font ainsi la part belle à l’estampe et au dessin. Au premier étage, la salle « cœur » est ainsi dévolue à la présentation des différents fonds d’estampe et les deux petites salles de l’aile « Montreux » aux dessins. La politique d’exposition se construit elle aussi dans le sens d’un rayonnement de ce patrimoine. Répartie en trois saisons, elle s’organise entre un moment consacré aux jeunes artistes à « mi-parcours » (printemps), une exposition d’envergure internationale (été), un moment propice à la concentration et à la réflexion, offrant à lire ou à relire autrement un sujet important de l’histoire des arts (automne). Une fois par année au minimum, une exposition est consacrée aux estampes. Les autres expositions valorisent le dessin ou l’objet papier contemporain au sens large. Elles se construisent la plupart du temps sur la base des collections. En matière de publications, les forces sont également concentrées sur l’estampe et le dessin : le Musée et le Cabinet des estampes ont ainsi déjà à leur actif des catalogues raisonnés et catalogues de collections, des monographies de référence et des ouvrages thématiques.


Le Cabinet cantonal des estampes au Musée Jenisch Vevey
Créé en 1987 au Musée Jenisch Vevey et inauguré le 11 avril 1989, le Cabinet cantonal des estampes est une structure fédérant les collections d'estampes, publiques et privées, formées en terre vaudoise et/ou entretenant un lien particulier avec l'histoire artistique locale. Il fait suite à l'existence d'un premier cabinet institué au Musée de l'Elysée entre 1979 et 1983, regroupant déjà certains des fonds déposés à Vevey (Fondation William Cuendet & Atelier de Saint-Prex, Fonds des estampes du Professeur Decker et la collection des estampes de l'Etat de Vaud constituée sur place).

Après avoir occupé le rez-de-chaussée du bâtiment jusqu'en 2009, le Cabinet cantonal des estampes se décline désormais sur trois plans différents au Musée Jenisch. D'une part, il bénéficie au minimum d'une exposition temporaire par an dans les salles du rez-de-chaussée : y sont présentés des projets de recherche, traitant d'un thème particulier ou de l'œuvre d'un artiste de manière approfondie. Ces projets participent et répondent à la politique d'exposition du musée, répartie en trois moments différents. Le programme est conçu de manière étroite avec la direction du musée. Ces expositions temporaires sont généralement, en fonction des possibilités et des moyens, accompagnées d'une publication. Elles mettent en avant l'un des fonds conservés et peut être complétée de prêts extérieurs.

D'autre part, le patrimoine du Cabinet cantonal des estampes rayonne par le biais de la présentation des collections dans la salle qui lui est consacrée au premier étage : le « cœur ». Au nombre de trois par années, ces sélections valorisent les différents fonds. Elles offrent une certaine variété au fil de l'année (contemporain/ancien, thèmes/monographies/florilèges des fonds, etc.). Ces accrochages servent à mettre l'accent sur un ensemble particulier de pièces comme répondre à l'actualité de l'un des déposants. Le programme est arrêté d'année en année et peut inclure la participation, intégrale ou partielle, des conservateurs des fondations.

Enfin, le Cabinet possède désormais un espace de consultation appelé « Salle Leenaards ». Hébergeant la bibliothèque spécialisée, celui-ci est destiné à l’accueil des chercheurs et des différents publics intéressés, ainsi qu’à l’étude des pièces menée dans le cadre de projets de recherche ou de l’inventaire.

Le Cabinet cantonal des estampes vise à faire connaître au plus large public, constitué tant par des amateurs que par des néophytes, les ressources du médium imprimé. Il conduit cette mission pédagogique grâce aux fonds qu'il conserve. Il fait pleinement partie de l'identité et du projet du Musée Jenisch Vevey consistant en l'instauration d'un pôle de compétences des œuvres sur papier.

Le Musée Jenisch : un espace et une équipe de conservation correspondant à la nature des fonds
De taille moyenne, le Musée Jenisch possède des réserves correspondant à la conservation et à l’entreposage des œuvres sur papier. Les espaces, le mobilier et l’atelier de conservation sont adaptés à cette mission. Ils obéissent aux normes énoncées par l’ICOM en matière de stabilité hygrométrique et climatique, ainsi que sur le plan sécuritaire. Le cabinet de consultation – Salle Leenaards permet quant à lui l’étude des pièces et l’accueil des chercheurs. Une équipe spécialisée dans le conditionnement, l’encadrement, la restauration, l’inventaire et l’étude de ce type d’objet a été recrutée et formée dans ce sens. Elle est régulièrement invitée à parfaire ses compétences par le biais de formations continues.


CROP : centre de recherche pour les œuvres sur papier
En 2013, le Musée Jenisch Vevey a reçu une subvention importante de la part de l’Office fédéral de la culture en prévision de la numérisation de ses fonds d’œuvres sur papier. Son positionnement de centre de recherche en la matière lui ainsi a valu une reconnaissance sur le plan fédéral et le lancement d’un chantier devant à terme aboutir à la consultation en ligne des différentes collections d’estampes et de dessin. L’objectif de cette mise en ligne est
double : il vise le rayonnement et le partage du patrimoine avec un public large et offre de réduire considérablement la manipulation des œuvres tout en en créant une sauvegarde virtuelle.


Une politique d’acquisitions ciblée
Afin de renforcer la complémentarité des différentes collections sises dans le Canton de Vaud, le Musée Jenisch poursuit une politique d’acquisition visant à combler les lacunes et enrichir différents fonds d’estampes et de dessins, ainsi qu’à refléter les nouveaux développements artistiques dans ces médiums. Le montant du budget communal alloué aux acquisitions ne permet pas d’atteindre un niveau d’excellence et un rayonnement international dans l’achat de peintures ou de très grandes pièces contemporaines. Il offre en revanche la possibilité d’acquérir le meilleur dans le domaine de l’estampe ou du dessin.


Un accueil des publics adapté
Réfléchie en fonction de l’orientation du musée, la médiation culturelle proposée se construit sur la base d’une sensibilisation à l’estampe et au dessin. Dans une société où tout se numérise, cette démarche revêt un sens particulier. Dans l’accueil des différents publics, des écoles primaires, secondaires et spécialisées, le Musée Jenisch poursuit ainsi une mission de valorisation des possibilités du papier et des techniques de gravure ou de dessin.


Complémentarité et spécialisation
Dans un paysage culturel marqué par la surabondance de l’offre et la croissance inévitable des institutions et des projets, celles-ci peinent à trouver des soutiens financiers à la hauteur de leurs ambitions et se posent souvent dans une logique compétition ou de rivalité. Fondant ses actions sur un autre modèle, celui de la niche spécialisée, le Musée Jenisch opte pour la complémentarité de l’offre en assumant une identité forte et reconnaissable. L’objectif qu’il poursuit est de grandir « de l’intérieur » plutôt que de l’extérieur ; d’accroître ses compétences en matière de conservation, de recherche et d’exposition ; de développer ses collections de façon ciblée. Bref  de devenir un pôle d’excellence inévitable en Suisse pour les œuvres sur papier. Souvent confinée aux espaces réduits ou secondaires, celles-ci ne sont pas perçues comme des œuvres de première importance. Le Jenisch prend le parti d’octroyer à ces pièces ses espaces d’exposition, sans faire de distinction. Il a ainsi pour ambition de devenir le premier musée suisse exclusivement dédié à l’étude et au rayonnement de l’estampe et du dessin.


Julie Enckell Julliard
avec la collaboration de Laurence Schmidlin