Pietro Sarto - Chemins détournés

i

Pietro Sarto (Chiasso *1930), Petite sortie de l’Enfer (Pour Mandelstam), 2006, héliogravure sur papier vélin. Cabinet cantonal des estampes, Fondation William Cuendet & Atelier de Saint-Prex, Musée Jenisch Vevey © Photo Julien Gremaud

arrow icon
From 8 April 2022to 31 July 2022
Opening 7 April 2022

Pietro Sarto (*1930) has never considered the practice of engraving other than in its relationship with books. From 1971 onwards, he worked as an editor in the Saint-Prex workshop, which he had set up. In the course of his reading, he has discovered surprising visions of the world that are similar to those he has always developed in his art. Dante, Victor Hugo, Charles Ferdinand Ramuz open up stunning perspectives in their writings that the painter in turn welcomes in his works. Sarto transposes these dizzy spells, confrontations between light and shadow from the painted canvas to the sheet of paper, convinced that the dialogue between the two techniques offers solutions that can only enrich the viewer’s experience.
 

Publication

This book, which reproduces the works on display, is accompanied by a reflection on his approach to printmaking, painting and literature, commented on with extracts from recent interviews with the artist.

 

Pietro Sarto - Chemins détournés

Autors : Pietro Sarto and Florian Rodari

Coedition La Dogana and Fondation William Cuendet & Atelier de Saint-Prex, 88 pages

CHF 20.-

Available in May 2022

Documents
Events
See also

Pietro Sarto - Chemins détournés

i

Pietro Sarto (Chiasso *1930), Petite sortie de l’Enfer (Pour Mandelstam), 2006, héliogravure sur papier vélin. Cabinet cantonal des estampes, Fondation William Cuendet & Atelier de Saint-Prex, Musée Jenisch Vevey © Photo Julien Gremaud

arrow icon
Vom 8 April 2022bis 31 Juli 2022
Vernissage 7 April 2022

Pietro Sarto (*1930) hat die Ausübung der Radierkunst nie anders als in ihrer Beziehung zum Buch gesehen. Seit 1971 ist er als Verleger in dem von ihm gegründeten Atelier in SaintPrex tätig. In den Büchern, die er liest, entdeckt er überraschende Weltanschauungen, die jener gleichen, die er seit jeher in seiner Kunst entwickelt. Dante, Victor Hugo und Charles Ferdinand Ramuz eröffnen in ihren Schriften verblüffende Perspektiven, die der Maler in seinen Werken aufgreift. Aufwallungen und Konfrontationen zwischen Licht und Schatten, die Sarto von der Leinwand auf das Papier überträgt, da der Dialog zwischen verschiedenen Techniken seiner Ansicht nach Lösungen bietet, die den Blick befruchten und bereichern.
 

Publikation

Dieses Buch, das die ausgestellten Werke reproduziert, wird von einer Reflexion über seine Herangehensweise an die Druckgrafik, die Malerei und die Literatur begleitet, die anhand von Auszügen aus kürzlich mit dem Künstler geführten Interviews kommentiert wird.

 

Pietro Sarto - Chemins détournés

Autoren : Pietro Sarto und Florian Rodari

Koedition La Dogana und Fondation William Cuendet & Atelier de Saint-Prex, 88 Seite

CHF 20.-

Erhältlich im Mai 2022

Galerie
Dokumente
Anlässe
Auch zu sehen