History, mission statement and collections

i

Vue du Musée Jenisch Vevey. Photo Julien Gremaud

arrow icon

 

Located in Vevey on the shores of Lake Geneva (one of the stages on the Romantic “Grand Tour”) the museum attracts visitors drawn by the heritage of Rousseau and Byron and also enjoys the support of art lovers of all kinds, from experienced connoisseurs to beginners. It owes its creation to a gift: as a mark of her gratitude towards a town in which she had spent many happy times with her husband, Fanny Jenisch (1801-1881), the widow of a senator from Hamburg, donates two hundred thousand gold francs to the town of Vevey to fund the construction of an encyclopaedic museum combining art and science.

Inaugurated in March 1897, the museum is built in a neo-classical style by the architects Maillard and Convert. A replica of the Parthenon frieze adorns its façade, while the entrance hall and main staircase have mosaic floors and are decorated with columns and statues based on models from Antiquity. In accordance with Fanny’s wishes the museum also houses a library, and welcomes generations of schoolchildren who come to discover its stuffed animals – including the famous giraffe – and attend drawing lessons. In the 1980s, the scientific collections are transferred to the cantonal zoology museum in Lausanne.

In 1989, the renovated museum becomes home to the Fondation Oskar Kokoschka and the Canton of Vaud prints collection. The departure of the municipal library in 2004 frees up a space on the lower level, enabling the now somewhat cramped museum to expand in order to accommodate its growing collections. 

After a three-year closure while renovation work was carried out, the fully refurbished and expanded Musée Jenisch Vevey reopened its doors in June 2012.  The architects, Bakker & Blanc of Lausanne, embedded the historic building in its modern context while remaining faithful to its past. Wherever possible, the aim was to restore the building to its original appearance, reflected in the mosaic floors and the coloration of the walls in the hall.  The Musée Jenisch Vevey has a strong identity and a unique atmosphere that Bakker & Blanc set out to preserve. Passing through the entrance hall with its remarkable epic décor, so redolent of Antiquity – columns, mouldings, Pompeii-style walls and frescoes by Ernest Biéler – visitors encounter the exhibition galleries in the modernised areas, in a deliberate departure from the historicising register.

A museum for works on paper

"A museum is a non-profit, permanent institution in the service of society and its development, open to the public, which acquires, conserves, researches, communicates and exhibits the tangible and intangible heritage of humanity and its environment for the purposes of education, study and enjoyment."

International Council of Museums (ICOM) definition of museums

 

Second art museum in the Canton of Vaud

The second largest art museum in the canton of Vaud, the Musée Jenisch Vevey presents a rich programme of temporary exhibitions and a permanent collection of paintings (Bocion, Courbet, Corot, Hodler, Vallotton, Picasso, Morandi, etc.), in a neoclassical setting located fifteen minutes by train from Lausanne. It houses an extraordinary collection of works on paper. In particular, the Cabinet cantonal des estampes (Cantonal Print Room) contains some 40,000 sheets from the Renaissance to the present day, making it one of the five most prestigious collections of engraved works in Switzerland. It also houses the most important collection of graphic works by Oskar Kokoschka in the world, as well as a collection of over 10,000 drawings. Inaugurated in 1897, the museum takes its name from the donor who made its creation possible, Fanny Jenisch (1801-1881). In a subtle dialogue between ancient and contemporary art, this institution is now dedicated to the promotion of works on paper.

 

Cabinet cantonal des estampes

Several stages led to the creation of the Cabinet cantonal des estampes. These included the role of artists and major collectors, as well as the opening of the Musée de l’Élysée in Lausanne in 1980, which is dedicated to the image and directed by Florian Rodari. Following the establishment of the Cabinet cantonal des estampes in 1986 by the State Council and its transfer to the Musée Jenisch Vevey in 1987 thanks to Bernard Blatter, the former director, supported by the successive presidents of the William Cuendet Foundation & Atelier de Saint-Prex, the Cabinet cantonal des estampes was inaugurated on 11 April 1989. With more than 35,000 works from the Renaissance to the present day, the Cabinet cantonal des estampes brings together three public collections and three collections deposited by two foundations and an association - the State of Vaud print collection and that of the City of Vevey, Professor Decker’s print fund, the William Cuendet & Atelier de Saint-Prex Foundation, the Pierre Aubert Foundation, the collection of the Alexis Forel Museum - all of which, through their generosity and trust, contribute to the promotion of printed art in our museum, which is now one of the five most important graphic arts cabinets in Switzerland, alongside those in Geneva, Basel and Zurich. In 30 years, no less than one hundred exhibitions devoted to prints have been organised at the Musée Jenisch Vevey.

 

Programm

The Musée Jenisch Vevey is dedicated to the promotion of works on paper from its collections. The exhibitions thus give pride of place to prints and drawings. The museum houses temporary exhibitions on the ground floor, while the permanent collection wing is located upstairs, presenting paintings by Bocion, Corot, Courbet, Hodler, Vallotton, Picasso, Morandi, Palézieux, etc.

 

The Pavillon de l’estampe, a central space located on the first floor, offers three temporary exhibitions per year, with a wide variety of works: ancient and contemporary engravings, original themes, monographic presentations, anthologies of collections, etc.

 

Finally, a wing of the floor is permanently dedicated to the expressionist artist Oskar Kokoschka, whose Foundation is housed at the Musée Jenisch Vevey. A temporary exhibition is presented there every year.

 

Every two years, the museum hosts an exhibition of the Festival Images.

Collections

Since its inauguration in 1897, the museum has enriched its collections thanks to the support of its public. The very first work - inventory number 1 - a view of Lake Geneva by François Bocion was acquired by public subscription from the people of Vevey.

 

The museum then received generous donations and bequests, such as several paintings by Gustave Courbet offered by his sister Juliette in 1914, after the artist’s death in 1877 in La Tour-de-Peilz.

 

In the 1950s, the curator of the Musée Jenisch Vevey was François Daulte, the future director of the Fondation de l’Hermitage in Lausanne, who organised important exhibitions on Impressionism and the School of Paris (Renoir, Utrillo, Vuillard, etc.).

 

Bernard Blatter was director from 1983 to 2004 and gave the museum its letters of nobility. Reorganised during extensive works in 1988, the exhibition spaces, now freed from the natural science and zoology collections, could focus on the Fine Arts. By hosting the Kokoschka Foundation (founded in 1988) and the Cabinet cantonal des estampes (attached to the Vevey building since 1989), the Musée Jenisch became a cultural landmark of the canton.

 

Appointed director in 2004, Dominique Radrizzani, a drawing specialist, emphasised the strong presence of drawing in Vevey. He also opened the programme to contemporary art, with "carte blanche" exhibitions given to various artists.

 

Between 2013 and 2018, Julie Enckell Julliard, previously curator of modern and contemporary art, directed the museum, continuing to highlight the worlds of printmaking and drawing and extending the reflection on the place of paper in contemporary art.

 

Since her arrival in 2019, Nathalie Chaix has affirmed the institution’s position as a centre of excellence for the conservation and development of works on paper.

 

The collections of the Musée Jenisch are constituted by deposits of artists’funds (Lélo Fiaux, Wilhelm Gimmi, Jacques Pajak) and by important donations. It is thanks to private initiative, among other things, that the collection of drawings has been enriched with major pieces. In 1968, an important bequest from René de Cérenville added more than 150 old drawings, including several rare sheets by famous Italian Renaissance artists. In 2007, a collector left Vevey a collection of 400 drawings from the 18th century in France and Italy, a collection that is constantly being expanded. In 2014, Rudolf Schindler donated an exceptional collection of 632 drawings by Ferdinand Hodler to the museum. In 2019, the Fondation des Amis du Musée Jenisch donated its entire collection to the museum.

 

Permanent loans
Fondation Jacques Pajak
Fondation Lélo Fiaux
Fondation Wilhelm Gimmi
Collection d’art Nestlé

Fondation de la Société des Beaux-Arts de Vevey
Fondation pour les Arts et les Lettres
Fondation Gottfried Keller

The museum now houses temporary exhibitions on the ground floor, while the highlights of the museum - historical collections of paintings from the 16th century to contemporary creations, the Oskar Kokoschka Foundation space, prints and drawings - are on permanent display upstairs, thanks to regularly renewed hangings.


The Pavillon de l’estampe, a central space located on the first floor, offers three temporary exhibitions per year, with a wide variety of works: old and contemporary prints, original themes, monographic presentations, collections of prints, etc.

 

Historical highlights

Geschichte, Leitbild und Sammlungen

i

Vue du Musée Jenisch Vevey. Photo Julien Gremaud

arrow icon

 

Das Musée Jenisch befindet sich in Vevey an den Ufern des Genfersees, einem der Ziele der einstigen «Grand Tour» bzw. Kavalier- oder Bildungsreise. Sein erstes Publikum bestand aus Anhängern der Kultur Rousseaus und Byrons und aus Kunstliebhabern genauso wie aus interessierten Laien. Die Gründung des Museums beruht auf einer Schenkung von Fanny Jenisch (1801–1881), der Witwe eines Hamburger Senators. Mit dieser Schenkung wollte sie der Gemeinde Vevey, wo sie mit ihrem Gatten glückliche Zeiten verbracht hatte, ihre Dankbarkeit ausdrücken. Sie vermachte der Gemeinde 200 000 damalige Goldfranken zur Errichtung eines Museums, das ganz nach dem damaligen enzyklopädischen Verständnis Kunst und Wissenschaft unter einem Dach vereinen sollte.

Das im März 1897 eingeweihte Museum wurde von den Architekten Maillard und Convert erbaut und ist im neoklassischen Stil gehalten. Sein Giebeldreieck wird von einer Replik des Parthenon-Frieses geschmückt, während die Eingangshalle und die Haupttreppen von Mosaikböden mit antikisierenden Säulen und Statuetten geziert werden. Das auf Fannys Wunsch mit einer Bibliothek ausgestattete Museum wurde von Generationen von Gymnasiasten aufgesucht, welche dort die ausgestopften Tiere – nicht zuletzt die berühmte Giraffe – bestaunten und sich im Zeichnen unterweisen liessen. In den 1980er-Jahren gingen die wissenschaftlichen Sammlungen wieder an das zoologische Museum von Lausanne.

Seit 1989 beherbergt das Museum in seinen renovierten Räumlichkeiten die Fondation Oskar Kokoschka und die grafische Sammlung des Kantons Waadt. Mit dem Umzug der Gemeindebibliothek im Jahr 2004 hatte sich im Untergeschoss der nötige Freiraum für eine Neuorganisation der Räumlichkeiten ergeben, die mittlerweile zu eng geworden waren, um den wachsenden Sammlungen gerecht zu werden.

Nach dreijähriger umbaubedingter Schliessung wurde das umfassend renovierte und erweiterte Musée Jenisch Vevey im Juni 2012 wiedereröffnet.
Dem Architekturbüro Bakker & Blanc (Lausanne) ist es gelungen, das historische Gebäude in der heutigen Zeit zu verankern und gleichzeitig seine Vergangenheit zu würdigen. Wo immer möglich trug man dem ursprünglichen Museum Rechnung, etwa den Mosaikböden oder den Farbtönen der Eingangshalle. Das Musée Jenisch Vevey hat eine starke Identität und eine ureigene Atmosphäre, welche die Architekten von Bakker & Blanc in Lausanne so gut wie nur möglich bewahrt haben. Nachdem die Besucherinnen und Besucher die Eingangshalle mit ihrer beeindruckenden antikisierenden Staffage in Form von Säulen, Skulpturenabgüssen, Wandbemalungen im pompejanischen Stil und Fresken von Ernest Biéler durchschritten haben, gelangen sie nichtsdestotrotz in moderne Ausstellungsräume, die bewusst mit den historisierenden Elementen brechen. 

Ein Museum für Werken auf Papier

« Das Museum ist eine dauerhafte Einrichtung, die keinen Gewinn erzielen will, öffentlich zugänglich ist und im Dienst der Gesellschaft und deren Entwicklung steht. Sie erwirbt, bewahrt, erforscht, präsentiert und vermittelt das materielle und immaterielle Erbe der Menschheit und deren Umwelt zum Zweck von Studien, Bildung und Genuss. » Definition des International Council of Museums, ICOM, 2007.

Zweites Kunstmuseum des Kantons Waadt
Das Musée Jenisch Vevey ist das zweitgrößte Kunstmuseum des Kantons Waadt. Es bietet ein reichhaltiges Programm an Sonderausstellungen und eine ständige Gemäldesammlung (Bocion, Courbet, Corot, Hodler, Vallotton, Picasso, Morandi usw.) in einem neoklassizistischen Gebäude, das nur 15 Minuten mit dem Zug von Lausanne entfernt liegt. Es beherbergt eine außergewöhnliche Sammlung von Werken auf Papier. Insbesondere das Cabinet cantonal des estampes, das rund 40.000 Blätter von der Renaissance bis zur Gegenwart umfasst und damit zu den fünf renommiertesten Beständen an Druckgrafiken in der Schweiz gehört. Es beherbergt auch den weltweit größten Bestand an grafischen Werken von Oskar Kokoschka sowie eine Sammlung von über 10.000 Zeichnungen. Das Museum wurde 1897 eröffnet und nach der Spenderin Fanny Jenisch (1801-1881) benannt, die seine Gründung ermöglichte. In einem subtilen Dialog zwischen alter und zeitgenössischer Kunst hat sich diese Institution heute die Verbreitung von Werken auf Papier zum Ziel gesetzt.

Cabinet cantonal des estampes
Das Cabinet cantonal des estampes (Kantonales Druckgrafik-Kabinett) entsteht in mehreren Etappen. Eine wichtige Rolle spielen insbesondere Künstler und bedeutende Sammler, aber auch die Eröffnung des der Fotografie gewidmeten und von Florian Rodari geleiteten Musée de l’Élysée in Lausanne im Jahr 1980. Nach der Gründung des Cabinet cantonal des estampes durch den Staatsrat im Jahr 1986 wird es 1987 dank Bernard Blatter, dem damaligen Direktor, der von den Präsidenten der Fondation William Cuendet & Atelier de Saint-Prex unterstützt wird, in das Musée Jenisch verlegt und am 11. April 1989 eröffnet. Mit mehr als 35 000 Werken von der Renaissance bis zur Gegenwart vereint das Cabinet cantonal des estampes drei öffentliche und drei von zwei Stiftungen und einem Verein deponierte Sammlungen: die Druckgrafik-Sammlungen des Kantons Waadt und der Stadt Vevey, den Druckgrafik-Bestand von Professor Decker, die Fondation William Cuendet & Atelier de Saint-Prex, die Fondation Pierre Aubert und die Sammlung des Musée Alexis Forel. Sie alle tragen durch ihre Grosszügigkeit und ihr Vertrauen zur Aufwertung der Druckkunst in unserem Museum bei, das heute neben Genf, Basel und Zürich zu den fünf wichtigsten Druckgrafik-Kabinetten der Schweiz zählt. In 30 Jahren wurden im Musée Jenisch nicht weniger als 100 Ausstellungen zur Druckgrafik organisiert.

Programm
Das Musée Jenisch Vevey widmet sich der Inwertsetzung von Arbeiten auf Papier aus den von ihm bewahrten Sammlungen. So rücken die Ausstellungen Druckgrafiken und Zeichnungen in den Vordergrund. Im Erdgeschoss finden die Wechselausstellungen statt, während im ersten Stock die Dauerausstellung untergebracht ist, in der Gemälde von Bocion, Corot, Courbet, Hodler, Vallotton, Picasso, Morandi, Palézieux und vielen anderen zu sehen sind.


Der Pavillon de l’Estampe (Pavillon de Druckgrafik), ein zentraler Raum im ersten Stock, bietet drei Wechselausstellungen pro Jahr mit einer breiten Werkauswahl an: alte und zeitgenössische Druckgrafiken, Sonderthemen, monografische Ausstellungen, ausgewählte Arbeiten aus den Beständen usw.


Ein weiterer Bereich des ersten Stocks ist dauerhaft dem expressionistischen Künstler Oskar Kokoschka gewidmet, dessen Stiftung im Musée Jenisch untergebracht ist. Dort wird jedes Jahr eine Wechselausstellung gezeigt.


Alle zwei Jahre findet im Museum eine Ausstellung des Festival Image statt.

Sammlungen

Seit seiner Eröffnung im Jahr 1897 kann das Museum dank der Unterstützung durch sein Publikum seine Sammlungen erweitern. Das allererste Werk – Inventar-Nr. 1 –, eine Ansicht des Genfersees von François Bocion, wird dank einer bei den Einwohner*innen von Vevey durchgeführten öffentlichen Subskription erworben.

In der Folge erhält das Museum grosszügige Schenkungen und Legate, zum Beispiel Gemälde des 1877 in La Tour-de-Peilz gestorbenen Künstlers Gustave Courbet, die seine Schwester Juliette 1914 stiftet.

In den 1950er-Jahren ist François Daulte Konservator am Musée Jenisch, der spätere Direktor der Fondation de l’Hermitage in Lausanne, der wichtige Ausstellungen über den Impressionismus und die Schule von Paris (Renoir, Utrillo, Vuillard usw.) organisiert.

Unter Bernard Blatter, Direktor von 1983 bis 2004, erlangt das Museum hohes Ansehen. Im Zuge umfangreicher Arbeiten 1988 neu organisiert, sind die nun von den naturwissenschaftlichen und zoologischen Sammlungen befreiten Ausstellungsräume der Kunst vorbehalten. Durch die Aufnahme der Fondation Oskar Kokoschka (gegründet 1988) und des Cabinet cantonal des estampes (seit 1989 im Museum untergebracht) wird das Musée Jenisch zu einem kulturellen Wahrzeichen des Kantons.

Dominique Radrizzani, ein Spezialist der Zeichenkunst, der 2004 die Direktion übernimmt, legt den Akzent auf die starke Vertretung der Zeichnung in Vevey. Zudem öffnet er das Programm auf die zeitgenössische Kunst, indem er verschiedenen Künstlern «Carte blanche»-Ausstellungen anbietet.

Von 2013 bis 2018 leitet Julie Enckell Julliard, zuvor Konservatorin für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst, das Museum, indem sie weiterhin die Welt der Druckgrafik und der Zeichnung zur Geltung bringt und die Reflexion über den Platz des Papiers in der zeitgenössischen Kunst fortsetzt.

Seit ihrer Ankunft im Jahr 2019 betont Nathalie Chaix die Positionierung der Institution als Kompetenzzentrum für die Erhaltung und Inwertsetzung von Arbeiten auf Papier.

Die Sammlungen des Musée Jenisch umfassen Dauerleihgaben von Künstlerbeständen (Lélo Fiaux, Wilhelm Gimmi, Jacques Pajak) und grössere Schenkungen. Der Zeichnungsbestand wird unter anderem dank privater Initiative um bedeutende Stücke erweitert. 1968 kommt das umfangreiche Legat René de Cérenville mit mehr als 150 alten Zeichnungen hinzu, darunter mehrere seltene Blätter berühmter italienischer Künstler der Renaissance. 2007 vermacht ein Sammler dem Museum ein Ensemble von 400 französischen und italienischen Zeichnungen des 18. Jahrhunderts, ein Bestand, der weiterhin ständig wächst. 2014 schenkt Rudolf Schindler der Institution ein aussergewöhnliches Ensemble von 632 Zeichnungen Ferdinand Hodlers. 2019 schenkt die Fondation des Amis du Musée Jenisch ihre gesamte Sammlung dem Museum.

Dauerleihgabe
Fondation Jacques Pajak
Fondation Lélo Fiaux
Fondation Wilhelm Gimmi
Collection d’art Nestlé
Fondation de la Société des Beaux-Arts de Vevey
Fondation pour les Arts et les Lettres

Fondation Gottfried Keller

Das Museum zeigt im Erdgeschoss Wechselausstellungen, während seine Highlights – die historische Gemäldesammlung mit Werken vom 16. Jahrhundert bis zu zeitgenössischen Arbeiten, die Räume der Fondation Oskar Kokoschka, die Druckgrafiken und Zeichnungen – mittels regelmässig erneuerter Hängungen im ersten Stock ständig ausgestellt sind.
Der Pavillon de l’estampe, ein zentraler Raum im ersten Stock, bietet drei Wechselausstellungen pro Jahr mit einer breiten Werkauswahl an: alte und zeitgenössische Druckgrafiken, Sonderthemen, monografische Ausstellungen, ausgewählte Arbeiten aus den Beständen usw.

 

Historische Highlights